Maroon 5 is an American pop rock band that originated in Los Angeles, California. In 2001, the band regrouped, with James Valentine added to the lineup, and pursued a new direction under the name Maroon 5. In 2006, drummer, percussionist and backing vocalist Ryan Dusick left the band and was replaced by Matt Flynn. The band recorded their second album, It Won't Be Soon Before Long, The band released their fourth studio album, Overexposed, in June 2012. The album peaked at number two on the Billboard 200 chart. The first two singles from the album "Payphone" and "One More Night", were both international hits and peaked at two and one on the Hot 100 chart respectively.
In 2014, the band signed with Interscope Records and released their fifth studio album, V in September 2014 with the very-first line-up of six official members as PJ Morton became an official member. The album reached number one on the US Billboard 200 chart and the lead single, "Maps" was released. The single peaked number 6 on the Hot 100 chart. The second single "Animals" was released.
Since its debut in 2002, the band has sold more than 10 million albums in the United States and over 30.8 million digital singles and 27 million albums worldwide.